Author: Lawrence

Lawrence C. Marsh is professor emeritus in the Department of Economics.  He taught graduate and undergraduate economics in the department for 30 years beginning in 1975. Marsh's "Optimal Money Flow" book was released on June 16, 2020. His latest book "Money Flow in a Dynamic Economy" was released on July 4, 2023. In 1990 he co-founded the Midwest Econometrics Group (MEG), which he directed for 15 years.  He served as the director of the graduate program in economics for 13 years. He served in 2010 as visiting professor of econometrics and statistics at the University of Chicago's Booth School of Business and in 2016-2017 at Avila University in statistics and research methods in psychology. In teaching he won the James A. Burns award for excellence in graduate teaching in 1990-1991 and was an O’Malley Award Nominee for undergraduate teaching in 1995-1996.    In 2002-2003 he was selected as a Kaneb Faculty Teaching Fellow for excellence in teaching. He has served on 80 Ph.D. dissertation committees and has given several thousand lectures in graduate and undergraduate statistics, econometrics, mathematical economics, microeconomic theory and research methods in psychology. In quasi-retirement he spends his time writing and editing a variety of articles, books and newspaper columns.  His latest book is "Optimal Money Flow: How a Dynamic-Growth Economy Can Work for Everyone" published by Avila University Press.  Professor Marsh will forgo author royalties and donate the entire book price to student scholarships for books purchased through Avila University Press at .

Midwest Econometrics Group (MEG)

Midwest Econometrics Group (MEG):
Econometric Theory, Methods and Empirical Applications – (meeting held once each year) –

MEG Director/Coordinator:

Yoosoon Chang (Indiana University)

Upcoming MEG 2023 Meeting:

Federal Reserve Bank of Cleveland (Cleveland, October 12-13, 2023)

MEG Meetings:

2022 Michigan State University (East Lansing)
2021 Postponed for second year due to COVID-19
2020 Postponed for one year due to COVID-19.
2019 Ohio State University (Columbus)
2018 University of Wisconsin (Madison)
2017 Texas A&M University (College Station)
2016 University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)
2015 Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis (St. Louis)
2014 University of Iowa (Iowa City)
2013 Indiana University (Bloomington)
2012 University of Kentucky (Lexington)
2011 University of Chicago (Booth School)
2010 Washington University (St. Louis)
2009 Purdue University (West Lafayette)
2008 University of Kansas (Lawrence)
2007 St. Louis University (St. Louis)
2006 University of Cincinnati (Cincinnati)
2005 Southern Illinois University (Carbondale)
2004 Northwestern University (Evanston)
2003 University of Missouri (Columbia)
2002 The Ohio State University (Columbus)
2001 Federal Reserve Bank of Kansas City (Kansas City)
2000 University of Chicago (Hyde Park)
1999 Iowa State University (Ames)
1998 Indiana University (Bloomington)
1997 Michigan State University (East Lansing)
1996 University of Wisconsin (Madison)
1995 Washington University (St. Louis)
1994 University of Iowa (Iowa City)
1993 University of Illinois (Urbana-Champaign)
1992 Federal Reserve Bank of Minneapolis (Minneapolis)
1991 University of Notre Dame (South Bend)

Join or leave MEG email list.

Fellows of the Midwest Econometrics Group

Link to The Econometric Society.
Link to Midwest Economics Association.
Link to Midwest Finance Association.
Link to Illinois Economics Association.