Group Photo June 2017

Group Leader:

Dr. John Parkhill, Assistant Professor, 2013 – present. (CV)

  • Office: Stepan 260B
  • Email: john(dot)parkhill(at)
  •, Google Scholar
  • Phone: (574) 631-2696
  • Mailing Address: 251 Nieuwland Science Hall, Notre Dame IN, 46556-5670
  • Github:

Ph.D. Students:

Triet Nguyen-Beck  
NSF Graduate Research Fellow, 2014 – Present.
B.S. Honors in Biochemistry – University of Texas at Dallas with Prof. Steve Nielsen.

  • Office: Stepan 262
  • Email: tnguye23(at)
  • Github:

Kun Yao
M.S. Honors in Chemistry – Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics with Dr. Wei-Xue Li.

  • Office: Stepan 262
  • Email: kyao(at)
  • Github:

John Herr
B.S. in Chemistry & Mathematics – University of Iowa with Drs. Mark Young & Sara E. Mason.

  • Office: Stepan 262
  • Email: jherr1(at)
  • Github:

Kevin (Joong Hoon) Koh
B.S. in Chemistry – Ramapo College of New Jersey with Dr. Stephen Anderson.

  • Office: Stepan 262
  • Email: jkoh(at)
  • Github:

Anderson DaSilva Duraes

  • Office: Stepan 262
  • Email:adasilv3(at)

Undergraduate Students:

David Toth

High School Students:

Nicholas Casetti

Our Computers:

It is our group’s tradition to name computers after kaiju monsters. Our head node is named after our mascot creature Garamon. Our second node is named after the most beloved monster, Totoro. Our newest nodes are Faceless and Rodan.




Nahee Kim 
B.S. in Chemistry & Mathematics – Notre Dame, 2015.

Susan Lefelhocz
B.S. in tbd – Notre Dame, expected 2018.

Ravindra Nanguneri 
Postdoctoral Fellow (2014-2015)
Ph.D. in Physics  – UC Davis, 2012.