I am a Research Assistant Professor working on crossroads of material science, chemistry, and nuclear physics. I am a member of the Nuclear Science Laboratory, Department of Physics at the University of Notre Dame.

I completed my Ph.D. at the Yerevan State University (YSU, Yerevan, Armenia), where I worked on rapid exothermic processes which produce nanoscale materials. I remained at YSU for several years as a lecturer and was visiting scientists at the Institute of Chemical Physics, National Academy of Sciences (NSA, Armenia) before transferring to the Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, University of Notre Dame. In 2013 I joined the Department of Physics at Notre Dame as a Research Associate and then became a Research Assistant Professor.


  • Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry (YSU)                                        2006
  • M.S. in Chemistry (YSU)                                                         2003
  • B.S. in Chemistry (YSU)                                                          2001


  • Research Assistant Professor (Physics, ND)                                                        2016-present 
  • Post-Doctoral Researcher (Physics, ND)                                                              2013-2016
  • Post-Doctoral Researcher (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, ND)        2011-2012
  • Fulbright Visiting Scholar (Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, ND )        2010-2011
  • Visiting Scientist (Institute of Chemical Physics, NSA of Armenia)                  2007-2010
  • Visiting Scientist (Empa – Research Institute of the ETH Domain)                  2007 
  • Lecturer (Dept. Chemistry, YSU)                                                                          2006-2010


  • Academic Council of University of Notre Dame                2017-present
  • American Chemical Society                                                   2013-present
  • Materials Research Society                                                   2012-2015
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers                         2011-2012