Play Title: Senate Scene from Damon and Pythias

Date Performed: 0ct. 12, 1888
Sponsoring/Producing Organization:
Event: Founder’s Day/St. Edward’s Day

Cast List

Dionysius: P. VD. Brownson
Damon: R. Newton
Philistius: R. Pollock
Damocles: P. J. Burke
Procles: A. Leonard Senators, Soldiers, etc.


Sources The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol 22, Oct. 13, 1888, p. 133.

Play Title: Pilgrim’s Progress

Date Performed: Febuary 22, 1889
Director: Prof. Liscombe and Rev. Father Regan
Sponsoring/Producing Organization:
Event: Washington’s Birthday

Cast List

Cgristian (Pilgrim): F. Jewett
Evangelist: W. Blackman
Hopeful: W. Lahey
Faithful: H. Smith
Goodwill: R. Sullivan
Daemoniorum: J. Hepburn
Demons: W.C. Roberts, E. Morton, H. Jewett, S. Hummer, H. Barnes, A. O’Flaherty, F. Wayne, C. Ramsey, I.B. Casey, R. Zeller, J. Toner
Shepherds: T. Mahon, L. Monarch, F. Schillo, C. Schillo, F. Crotty, C.J. Koester
Angels: B. Bates, F. Cornell, C. McPhee, G. Fanning, F. Evers, H. Mooney, F. Webb, W. Young, S. Bruel, J. Finnerty, W. Foster, P. Stephens,: F. Roberts, D. Goodwillie, L. Minor, W. Halthusen, S. Collins, E. Schultze, M. Blumenthal, L. Sutter, F. Mainzer, W. Williamson, W. Gallardo, C. Sullivan, J. Bradley


Sources The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol 22, Feb. 23, 1889, p. 417-418.

Play Title: Falsely Accused

Author: Professor Joseph A. Lyons
Dates Performed: St. Patrick’s Day, March 18, 1889
Director: Rev. Father Regan
Stage Manager: not found
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: The Columbians

Cast List

Jasper Roseblade: H.C. McAllister
Jonathan Roseblade: M. Howard
Claude Roseblade: Jas. McIntosh
Humphrey Higson: E. Kehoe
Jonas Hundle: H. Barnes
Rev. Owen Hylton: R. Bronson
Lord Viscount Elmore: C. Cavanaugh
Lieutenant Florville: F. Brown
Lord Chief Justice: F.H. Mithen
Grafton: C. O’Hara
Sergt. Stanley: J.B. Sullivan
Blinkey Brown: D. Tewksbury
Squinty Smith: J. Bretz
Sir Henry Harrington: S. Campbell
Clerk of the Court: F. Flemming
Sheriff: J. Welch
Usher of the Court: J. Crooker
Foreman of the Jury: C. Dacy
Reporter: G. Cartier
Reporter: A. Leonard
Grange: W. O’Brien
Thorpe: I. Bunker
Russell: J. Cooke
Richmond: H. Murphy
Barristers, Jurymen

Notes: The play was adapted from C.H. Hazelwood’s “Waiting for the Verdict” by Prof. Lyons

Source(s) The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol. 22, March 23, 1889, p.481-482.

Play Title: Cherry Bounce

Author: not found
Dates Performed: not found
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: The Columbians
Venue: Washington Hall

Cast List

Mr. Oldrents: H. McAlister
Gregory Homespun: H. Barnes
Gammon: J. Welch
Spinage: F. Mattes
Doctor’s Boy: F. Brown
Mr. Homespun: J. Bretz


Source(s) The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol. 22, May 4, 1889, p. 578.

Play Title: Pilgrim’s Progress or Christian’s Triumph

Author: not found
Dates Performed: June 19, 1889
Director: Professor Liscombe
Sponsoring/Producing Organization: not found
Event: Commencement
Venue: Washington Hall

Cast List

Angels: The Minims
Demons: The Juniors and Seniors
Solo Parts: F. L. Jewett, H. L. Smith, W. Lahey, A. E. O’Flaherty


Source(s) The Notre Dame Scholastic, Vol. 22, No. 43, June 29, 1889, p. 703.